Making art

I’ve been thinking about and talking about art lately. Thinking about how social dancing and art relate to one another. I’ve not enough specific things pinned down to have strong feelings one way or another, but a few bullet points which I find interesting.

I think for me the main point there is about the imperfection. Watching video of the choreography, I was diappointed that anxiety kept me from the lines I had rehearsed. I was self conscious that it didn’t have as much texture as some of the other showcases we competed against. I spent some time being very hard on myself about it. It was a first run of a first effort. Much was learned, and hopefully I can become a better artist, and come slightly closer to transmitting my messages perfectly.

Leave a comment

Filed under art, blues dance, performance

Leave a Reply

