Borrowing moves

A couple of times, I’ve shared some of my favorite moves and someone has said that it’s just like a move from some other dance. This feeds into another, much longer post that I’ve been planning. I feel that while there are lots of things, amazing things, that human bodies can do, there’s a limited number that feel natural and easy to do in a dance context. No matter what dance you do, I think it is possible to borrow moves in addition to ideas.

For comparison a cool follow spin with couple’s turn: Salsa and Slow Dancing by lindy hoppers.

How often do you borrow from other dances? Do you do it purposely? I know that I do both by accident and on purpose.

Leave a comment

Filed under blues dance, learning, socialization

Leave a Reply

