Reasons I take time off of dancing

I spend lots of time dancing. I’ll go for months hitting every weekly dance and sometimes extra weekend dances as well.

Sometimes though, I take a long time off of dancing. My reasons tend to fall into one of a few groups: burn out, injury, or non-dance related travel. Burn out is a combination of physical and psychological symptoms that can affect many parts of a persons life. It often shows for me as generalized fatigue that makes me want to hide away from all  obligations.  I generally just throw myself into the harness and keep getting through whatever it is that’s burning me out. I think it is important to take the time off. Burnout and fatigue make it more likely to be injured. Time off, allows me to come back with passion I could never maintain if I kept dancing all the time.

Leave a comment

Filed under blues dance

Leave a Reply

