I paid for, but didn’t take classes

I went to a workshop exchange. When I paid, the Saturday workshop was included in my price. However, I didn’t take the workshop. There are many rationalizations that I could give for why I didn’t go. I’ve covered similar material many times with multiple teachers. I was tired. I had a choreography to rehearse. So on and so forth until sickness.

I feel as though the value that I get out of workshops and group classes is declining. The last time that someone said something brand new or surprising to me was long ago. Half the time the concepts being taught are ones that I’ve worked into a class in my head.  Of course the teachers are better at teaching it. They are also better at dancing it. I’ve decided that the best venue for me will be privates, but they are usually much more money.

I just realized in the shower that it is a matter of my intellectual capacity is beyond my physical capacity. I can visualize and understand things much more than I am able to perform.

Leave a comment

Filed under blues dance, learning

Leave a Reply

