Changing tempos

I use VCL a lot, and one of the nifty features is that it will let you change the speed of audio playback. When I was practicing for the choreography competition we would dance to our song both slower and faster. Each had a different value. Slow requires body control. Fast required precession. They both required us to listen to the music and allow that to be our guide to how we were dancing.

However, the first time I listened to that song slowed down there was a moment of discovery. There was so much happening in the music that I just hadn’t the time to process before. I know that Jazz is complex and multilayered, but to hear it layed out like that was almost magical.

Now I’m playing around with a different genre of music, and much to my surprise I like it and appreciate it better slowed down. Maybe I just take a long time to process.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

